Click on the graphic above to view samples of the Skill Standards…

WCA Skills Standards

In partnership with other national and regional associations, educators, and others, the WCA developed and released the Woodwork Manufacturing Skill Standards (observable and measurable performance standards for over 50 tools and machines) in 2011, which has since expanded to well over 100 tools.

The WCA created an assessment process which allows woodworkers to demonstrate their competency with woodworking skills and document them in the WCA Registry. The Registry is our national database representing your personal, permanent record of lifetime skill achievements as a woodworking professional. Employers can select the tools and tool operations relevant to their jobs or training needs.

The Skill Standards are and continue to be written by active woodwork professionals and educators inside the industry from all across North America. You have the opportunity to improve and add to the Standards. Consider leaving your legacy by helping to improve our processes by “giving back” to your industry in a meaningful way. Contact the WCA if you have an interest in developing new or improving existing standards.

The WCA Skill Standards is a comprehensive, industry-accepted set of observable, measurable skills. It includes a voluntary assessment program that allows woodworkers to demonstrate their competency at in-plant woodworking skills.

WCA Skill Standards can be used to:

  • Develop training and curricula
  • Define job requirements
  • Provide a benchmark for performance
  • Recruit woodworking professionals
  • Enhance labor value and mobility
  • Plan career learning and development paths

Scope of the Standards:

The graphic on this page shows the Table of Contents of the published Skill Standards. They are written to cover the essential tools, machines, and operations in modern advanced woodwork manufacturing.